Administration » Local School Leadership Council

Local School Leadership Council

Arleta High School

Local School Leadership Council Meeting

Thursday, November 21, 2019

Social Justice Collaboration Room

Co-Chairs: Jonathon Hayes, Principal & Nicole Patin, UTLA Chapter Chair

Elected Certificated Members: Yolanda Vasquez, Cynthia Villafana, Pamela Good, Lisa Law, Beverly Junio, Hector Perez-Roman, Scott Cooper

Parent Member: Lisa Torres           Classified Member: Rhonda Richard

Student Member: Rochelle Frias



  1. Welcome/Call to Order
  2. Reading and Approval of Minutes from Previous Meeting(s)

III. Items to continue developing:

  • Committee Norms
  • Decision Making
  • Budget Purview
  • Compliance
  1. Physical Education Waiver: Update by Mr. Hayes on start date for new Tuesday schedule, other scheduling options, and future solutions. Mr. Alex Revel to speak about impact and plausibility of various suggested solutions.
  2. Calendar Issues: SAT test date is Wednesday, March 4, 2020 per the district. What will our plan be for grades 9, 10, 11? Should we follow the SLC plans from last year? Shortened day?

CAST (Science SBAC) is Tuesday, March 31, 2020. In order for 11th grade students to test from 8-10 a.m. classes need to start at 10:15 a.m. We need adjusted schedule for that day.

  1. No “D” policy & Grade Inflation: Dr. Saucedo requested that we discuss and consider voting to drop the No “D” grading policy, and to discuss students receiving grades of “A” in AP classes and obtaining a “1” on the exam.



VII. Continue Sub-Committee Development:


  • AP
  • PD